Agency Services Agency Services

Policy Reporting Guidelines

Stewart’s procedures for both manual and electronic policy reporting can be found here. State information includes but is not limited to: Transaction Codes, Required Fields and Specific Statutory Reporting Requirements.

Contacts:

Claudia Lee – Policy Services Director
Russell Gonzales – Policy Services Associate Director

Stewart Title Guaranty Company
Policy Services
Mail Code: Policies 187
9700 Bissonnet St., Suite 1500
Houston TX 77036
(713) 625-8288
(800) 792-1905 toll free

Policy information can be reported using one of three methods:

  1. Electronic – Send all issued policies using an approved electronic file format.
  2. Non-Electronic – Submit copies of the issued policies. We prefer that you also submit a policy register.
    • A register is a document that contains a line-by-line detail of each policy and/or endorsement that has been issued
      or
    • If no register is provided you should include the amount of the premium charged on Schedule A of the policy.
  3. Email – Send issued policies/CPLs via email to Policy Services at stgerpt@stewart.com using one of these Excel files.

Note: these formats are Excel spreadsheets and no field/column in these formats should be deleted. If a field is not needed for your state, simply hide it or ignore it. The completed spreadsheet should be emailed to psccc@stewart.com for Policy Services upload and processing.

Issued Policies Issued Policies – TX Issued CPLs

However you choose to report your policy information, copies or images of the policies should always be provided. The required information is listed below and applies to either method of reporting. Some of the information may be required by your state's regulatory authority. If you have any questions about reporting requirements, please contact your Agency Services Manager (ASM) or Stewart’s Policy Services department.

Required information when reporting a policy:

  • Agency ID Number
  • File Number
  • Policy Number
  • Policy Date
  • Amount of Insurance (Liability)
  • Gross Premium (sometimes referred to as customer charge)
  • Risk Rate (in accordance with specific state requirements)
  • STGC Retention (this is the dollar amount owed to the underwriter)
  • County Codes – Alabama, California, Illinois, Ohio, Tennessee and Texas state requirement per property location
  • Municipality Codes – Kentucky state requirement per property location
  • Premium Tax Amount – Kentucky state requirement per property location
  • Parish Code – Louisiana state requirement per property location
  • Transaction/Rate Code (required for electronic reporting)
  • Property Type – R for Residential or C for Commercial
  • Record Type (if reported electronically – V for Void, A for Adjustment, L for In Lieu Of)

Fields that are required as applicable:

  • Reissue Liability (policy liability for the prior title policy subject to the reissue rate)
  • Additional Liability (liability of simultaneous issue when needed to calculate premium)
  • Charges associated with Closing Protection Letters (also known as CPL, ICL or CPC)

The following states charge for Closing Protection Letters (click on the state names to view fees):

Alabama – effective 11/1/2011
  • $25 charge to lender, remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $25 charge to buyer/borrower, remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $50 charge to seller, remitted at 100% to underwriter
Arizona – effective 9/1/2014
  • $20 charge per letter issued with a maximum of $40 per transaction to be remitted at 100% to the underwriter
Arkansas – effective 1/1/2008
  • $25 charge per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
District of Columbia – effective 10/1/2010
  • $50 charge per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
Delaware – effective 3/1/2011
  • $75 charge per transaction (regardless of how many letters issued in any 1 transaction), remitted at 100% to underwriter
Georgia – effective 7/1/2012
  • $40 charge per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
Iowa – effective 10/1/2010
  • $25 charge to lender per transaction, remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $25 charge to buyer per transaction, remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $50 charge to seller per transaction, remitted at 100% to underwriter
Illinois – effective 1/1/2011
  • Mandatory for all residential transactions and mandatory for commercial transactions up to $2,000,000
  • $25 buyers in conjunction with a purchase transaction remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $25 lender in conjunction with a purchase or refinance transaction to be remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $50 borrowers on a refinance transaction to be remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $50 seller in conjunction with a sale transaction to be remitted at 100% to underwriter
Indiana – effective 7/1/2013
  • $25 charge each remitted at 100% to underwriter
Louisiana – effective 8/1/2004
  • $25 charge per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
Mississippi – effective 1/1/2008
  • $50 charge per loan. If a second lender/loan included on same transaction, then additional $50 is to be charged. Remitted at 100% to underwriter
Missouri – effective 1/1/2008
  • $25 charge per letter issued in conjunction with residential real estate transactions, remitted at 100% to underwriter
Nebraska – effective 7/25/2008
  • $25 charge per letter issued, remitted per agency’s underwriting agreement
New Jersey
  • $75 charge per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
North Carolina – effective 10/1/2003
  • The premium charged must be a single undivided premium for the combination of title insurance and closing services insurance and must be based upon the purchase price of the property or the loan amount. Remitted per agency’s underwriting agreement
  • $0.50 per thousand up to $100,000
  • $0.10 per thousand, $100,001 to $500,000
  • $0.00 per thousand above $500,001
Ohio – effective 1/1/2007
  • $35 charge to lender per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $50 charge to seller per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $15 charge to buyer per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $15 charge to each additional applicant for title insurance per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
Pennsylvania – effective 9/1/2014
  • $125 charge per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
South Carolina – effective 4/1/2013
  • $15 charge remitted at 100% to underwriter
Tennessee
  • $50 charge per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
Utah
  • effective 5/9/2014 (Available as an optional issuance)
  • $25 for a lender, buyer/borrower to be remitted at 100% to the underwriter
  • $50 for a seller to be remitted at 100% to the underwriter
Virginia
  • $20 charge per letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
West Virginia – effective 9/5/2011
  • $50 charge per single transaction letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $50 charge per multiple transaction letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter
  • $75 charge per seller letter issued, remitted at 100% to underwriter